Japanese Customer Service According to Joe

<日本語版:トラブルを乗り越える気配りマジック

Every now and then I revisit my old posts. It usually happens when said post gets a flurry of new hits. It makes me want to go back and see what the fuss is all about! And there’s nothing like seeing one’s own ramblings from the past with a fresh set of eyes. Sometimes the comments are even better.

That’s exactly what happened the other day. A bunch of folks were kind enough to click on Japanese Customer Service Means Always Having to Say You’re Sorry last week, a piece I wrote over three years ago. After reading it I noticed there were 28 comments in total, admittedly many my own because, well, you just can’t shut up the Irishman from Chicago!

One comment really jumped out and grabbed me. For a couple reasons: first, it was very incisive and well-written. Second, it was a great customer-service story told by my dear friend Joe Cyr, a kindred spirit who recently passed away. (See Footprints in my Heart for background.)

The story inspired reflection, and I decided to make the comment a post of its own. Can’t think of a better way to honor my friend, and also pass on his wisdom to anyone hoping to improve their customer service, or simply better understand Japanese culture.

To put the story in context, Joe was commenting specifically on the passage below that was in my original post:

“And since apologizing is less an admission of guilt than an expression of regret that someone was inconvenienced, it makes it a lot easier for Japanese to apologize than Americans. So everyone apologizes and it’s all good!”

Here’s how my buddy Joe responded:

So very true.

One of my adult students back in the late 80′s worked for Hitachi. I just so happened to have a Hitachi VCR that stopped working for no apparent reason. I made the “mistake” of mentioning it to him one evening after class and wanted to know where I could get it repaired. Well, you’d think I blamed him for it not working, as I was totally unprepared for what ensued.

He immediately apologized profusely for the defective product and insisted on taking it to his factory where he worked to have it fixed. I balked, but he continued his apologizing and practically demanded that I turn it over to him which I did. To top it off, he returned to my house about a half hour later with his own VCR for me to use so I wouldn’t be inconvenienced while mine was being repaired!

How’s that for customer service? An employee apologizing for his entire firm and personally taking the product to the factory to have it repaired! Would, or could that ever happen in the US? I think not.

My VCR was personally returned to me about a week later with more apologies along with a 10 pack of blank cassettes, courtesy of the company, for a “defective” product!

As Erik mentioned above (citing another comment), ‘In fact by apologizing, the company is saying: “you are more important to me than my pride” ‘

In Japan, even today, they live by those words whereas, in the US they only pay lip service to the phrase “the customer is always right and most important.”

What a great customer service story! And as always, Joe was spot on in his analysis. Some other knowledgeable cross-cultural experts commented as well. I’ll add later after I get permission to quote them. Stay tuned!

Copyright © Tim Sullivan 2012

2 responses to “Japanese Customer Service According to Joe

  1. I’ve had so many great consumer goods customer service experiences in Japan. The only exception has been with AppleCare’s telephone service line (the Genius Bar service is superb, though).

    I had a refrigerator that stopped cooling intermittently. I had bought it (an American-sized one, or almost) at a secondhand goods (recycle) shop, so of course it was not in warranty, so I would be paying for the repair. The maker’s serviceman came to the house, diagnosed a condenser (or something) problem and replaced the part. Which again failed. He came again, scratched his head, and suggested, “I can try to replace this part again, at no charge, but I’m not really sure what’s wrong. If you like, we can replace this fridge, and I’ll charge you only for delivery.” (Less than $100) So … did THAT!

    A similar experience occurred when an old Canon PowerShot’s sliding lens cover came untracked. The company suggested sending it back to them so they could have a look (it was out of warranty). When they got it, they called and said the cost of repair was prohibitive, but that they would replace it with the new model (several years newer, much smaller, many more megapixels) for only ¥10,000. Did that too.

    Finally, at Apple’s Genius Bar, I had taken my Powerbook in for a video card replacement (I thought). The “genius” agreed that that was probably the problem, and said he’d call me if the repair was more than ¥50,000. I came back in, and they handed me back what appeared to be a new machine. I said, “This isn’t my computer.” The guy checked the paperwork, and said, “Yes, it is.” I said, “No, I dropped mine off my motorbike at 120kph (another, great story – it suffered only scrapes and dents and the loss of the headphone port) and this is definitely not my machine.” He looked at the repaid slip and said, “Well, we replaced the video card. And the motherboard. And the top and bottom cases, and the screen. And the keyboard.” A Japanese friend of mine, when I told him, said, “They left only the soul.”

    • Sorry for taking so long to respond. After reading your stories I’m thinking that only folks who actually lived in Japan will believe them, lol. Can’t imagine this happening in any other country. Thanks for sharing your stories.

Leave a Reply

