An Unauthorized Video Tour of MaxValue (a Japanese Supermarket)

Ever wonder what a Japanese supermarket looks like? Or what the Japanese pay for groceries? This video clip is brought to you by a “clueless foreigner” (um, me), who had the audacity to video-tape the happenings in a typical Japanese supermarket. When I entered MaxValu in Atami, I suspected that filming wasn’t allowed, but decided to play the “clueless foreigner card” and beg for forgiveness later. By the time a store employee asked me to stop it was too late. Check out the prices, presentations and friendly staff. (Even the stock-boys ‘n girls greet you as you pass them by in the aisles!)

Check it out:

Copyright © Tim Sullivan 2011

One response to “An Unauthorized Video Tour of MaxValue (a Japanese Supermarket)

  1. Aloha Tim! Great video post. Such clear resolution. In visiting any country I always recommend visiting the local supermarket first to get a feeling for the culture.

    Loved your comment about fish bones. I learned very quickly in my 13 years in Japan to pass the fish to my wife for de-boning as she could do it lightening fast with her chopsticks while I would make a total disaster of the same effort….let those who can do it well, do it for you.

Leave a Reply

