Going Downhill in Japan

What? Thought I was going to start bashing Japan? Not this guy. I love it here. Almost as much as I love Hawaii. Truth be told, if I had my druthers I’d live here six months out of the year, preferably spring and fall. And if the stars align it’s a real possibility…someday.

Or perhaps you thought my trip here had taken a bad turn? Nope, everything is hunky-dory. Really. In fact just finished up a really fun gig in Tokyo. Certainly the uphill battle of preparing to administer an intensive 3-day cross-cultural, team-building exercise can be exhausting. But when clients send me off with a smile on their faces it makes it all worth it.

So it’s all downhill from here, and I mean that in a good way. Got 4 more days to enjoy my beloved Japan without any worries or pressure.

So what’s the meaning of the title of this post? Real simple: it’s another clip of driving downhill from my in-laws house into the town of Atami. We had a very friendly cab driver, not the norm here by any stretch of the imagination. What’s interesting is the local pride: the cabbie assured us that “Tokyo cab drivers” don’t have the skill to maneuver through these narrow 2-way streets. And even if they did, most would likely get lost.

On a final note, I can’t believe that I used to drive these roads 20-plus years ago. It’s so intimidating now but I’m sure I could re-adapt if I had to. (But why bother? The train system is awesome here.)

So without further ado…going downhill in Japan:

Leave a Reply

